What is the criteria for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Dronacharya Award and Dhyan chand Award?

The Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, with the aim of streamlining the procedure for grant of the National Sports Awards, circulated the Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) to be followed by various agencies viz. the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Sports Authority of India (SAI), National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA), State Governments, National Sports Federations (NSFs), and Sports Promotion and Control Boards, in processing the cases relating to National Sports Awards starting from inviting nominations to constitution of Selection Committees.

The salient points of the newly introduced criteria are as follows :-

S.N. Criteria Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for most outstanding performance Dronacharya Award for Outstanding Coaches in Sports Dhyan chand Award for life time achievement in Sports
1. Weightage for the medals won in Olympic Games (Summer, Winter and Paralympics), Asian Games, Commonwealth Games and World Cup / World Championships held once in 4 years. 90% 90%* 70%
2. Weightage  to the marks given by the Selection Committee for assessment of the eligible sportsperson / coach keeping in view factors like profile and standard of sports event in which medal has been won 10% 10% 30%**
3. No. of awards to be given normally in a year 1 award 5 ( out of 5,  2 to be given for lifetime contribution in coaching) 3

* medals won by sportspersons trained by the coach under consideration for the award. Marking criteria will not apply for the 2 awards to be given for lifetime contribution in coaching. Selection committee will give its recommendations for such two coaches taking into consideration the contribution made by them over a period of 20 years or more in terms of producing outstanding sports-persons.

** includes marks for assessment for contribution made for promotion of sports after retirement for active Sports career and for qualities like sportsmanship, leadership, and sense of discipline.

Except for life-time achievement awards, points for winning medals will be given to each eligible sportsperson for his/her performance during the last 4 years. Equivalence of any other sports discipline/tournament will be decided by the Selection Committee and the points will be allotted accordingly.

For cricket and indigenous games, not included in Olympic / Asian Games / Commonwealth Games disciplines, the Selection Committee will take into consideration the individuals performances / contribution of the sportspersons/coaches.

In a particular sports discipline, names of not more than 2 Sportspersons ( 1 male and 1 female) and names of not more than 2 coaches in case of Dronacharya award with highest marks as per the criteria stated in the table above will be considered by the selection committee.

Sometimes, the Selection Committee may feel that as per the given criteria, a very deserving sportsperson may not get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna or Dhyan chand Award. In such a situation, it may recommend such name giving full justification in writing.

Sports Journalists/Experts/Commentators have now been included in the Selection Committees for the sports Awards.

SOURCE : http://yas.nic.in/


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s